Skip to main content

Research Process : Find Articles

This guide takes you step-by-step through the research process.

Find newspaper, magazine, and journal articles in Helena College Library's online databases.

Search everything all at once or choose a specific database for a more targeted approach.

Log into the Databases from Home

To access the library's resources off-campus, log in with your

NetID (hcs, hce or hcf#) and password.

Helena College NetID login screen

Choosing a Database

Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via your library through Internet. To help you find a specific database or identify the most appropriate databases for your topic/subject:

Interlibrary Loan

If you come across an article you need for your research, and the library does not provide full-text access to it in print or electronic format, request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

ILL requests can take up to 2 weeks to process, but generally costs nothing.

Database Coverage

Depending on the database you are using, you may be able to all or only parts of an article:

  • Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
  • Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
  • Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search across almost all of the library's databases at once for newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles, as well as books and DVDs. Watch the video below to learn the basics.


Article Quick Search

Not quite all of our databases work in the search box above. EBSCO, our largest collection of databases, provides access to scholarly journal articles not found in OneSearch. Check the "Peer Reviewed" box if you need peer-reviewed articles!

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles


What is a peer-reviewed article?

From Lloyd Sealy Library

In academic publishing, the goal of peer review is to assess the qualityof articles submitted for publication in a scholarly journal. Before an article is deemed appropriate to be published in a peer-reviewed journal, it must undergo the following process:

  •  The author of the article must submit it to the journal editor who forwards the article to experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
  •  These impartial reviewers are charged with carefully evaluating the quality of the submitted manuscript.
  •  The peer reviewers check the manuscript for accuracy and assess the validity of the research methodology and procedures.
  •  If appropriate, they suggest revisions. If they find the article lacking in scholarly validity and rigor, they reject it.

Because a peer-reviewed journal will not publish articles that fail to meet the standards established for a given discipline, peer-reviewed articles that are accepted for publication exemplify the best research practices in a field.

For more information, check out this short video:

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an easy way to search for scholarly literature online. When searching on-campus, the library's electronic journal holdings will show up in your search results.

If you search from off-campus and you want to see articles the library has access to:

  1. Log into your Google Account.
  2. Go to Google Scholar Settings' page and click "Library Links" on the left side menu. 
  3. Type "Helena College" in the search box to search for our school
  4. Click the checkbox beside "Helena College - Full-Text @ HC Library" then Save.

To better use Google Scholar for your research needs, check out Google's search tips.

Library Staff

Della, Jessie, & Mary Ann
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

eJournals A-Z

Print Periodicals

The library subscribes to 88 print magazine, journal and newspaper titles.

The most recent issues can be found on display in the magazine area of library and are available for check out.